ABOUT ME

 

about me-1

 

   I have been working in architecture in Portugal, since 1998, when I registered on the “Ordem dos Arquitectos Portuguêses”, the Portuguese architects accreditation entity, after ending my architecture degree at E.S.A.P. – Oporto, in October 1997. From 1999 to 2001, I worked at “G.T.L. – Gabinete Técnico Local da Guarda”, a Technical Historical Preservation Office, created to develop a master plan to safeguard the City ́s historical area. From 2001 until now, I have been working as Project Architect at “Câmara Municipal da Guarda”, the City Council. In 2007 I founded an architecture and landscape architecture firm, “TERRAFACIL.”, along with the landscape architect Carla Madeira, we collaborated as Partners until 2009, and as Senior Manager until 2014.

  During these years, I had the opportunity to experiment and develop many different sectors as in residential, public buildings, education, hospitality, health, cultural, sportive and religious, both new interventions as renovations. From the beginning, I have had a special interest for all the influence given by natural light in buildings, either in aesthetic as in pure luminescence or energetic aspects. Universal Design is my preeminent choice, and nowadays, environmental problems oblige me to reinforce care with detail, materials and constructive methods. What I always look for, are creative solutions to great challenges. Contributing to the improvement of people’s quality of life is my ultimate goal.